top of page
Search

The Wooden Pumpkin: How-To Guide

Updated: Sep 29, 2019

Well here we are making pumpkins out of wood. Just cutting, staining, drilling, and drawing. I figured this out by myself one day while my husband was at work, and I thought I'd share it with you all.


And so although I had never used a cutting saw, and never really drilled too many things together, I made this wooden pumpkin. I'm not going to make this long in any way because no one wants to hear a long story about what inspired me to make this sign. Truth is, nothing inspired me other than a bunch of cheap wooden planks and a lot of potential.


First things first, materials. Here is everything you will need listed below:


-Cutting saw

-wooden planks (mine were 8.25x34.5 inches).

-Stain/Paint

-Drill and screws

-Paint marker



First thing I did when I looked at this piece of wood was measure and draw lines on it with a sharpie so I would know where to cut. I used two planks, and I decided to cut my planks at 13 feet tall- which would leave two square pieces on each plank.


After I cut the pieces it was time to stain. Zack and I had some left over stain from staining our butcher block counter tops a while back, so I decided to put it to use. We went with Gunstock stain from Minwax.



I found this stain to be perfect for pumpkins, while still giving it the same wood feel. The stain has the perfect mix of orange and brown to create a beautiful pumpkin.



I coated each peice of wood with two coats of stain, on both sides. I left them to dry for a couple of hours just to be 100% sure they weren't wet. Sometimes stain takes a while to dry, but lucky me we have a heavy wind storm that I could set them out in.



After they're all stained and have dried, it's time to drill the pieces together. I put the screws through on the side piece so you wouldn't have to see them from the front. It took a minute to get the screws through both boards as well, so I first drilled holes through each board where I wanted them to meet together, and then put it through both.



Lastly, I painted the top with a dark brown and set it on top. Tell me what you think, and let me know if this project works out for you!

1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page